long weekend off…

So we have a five day weekend this weekend! Woo hoo! This first day off though is mostly going to be spent with Branden sleeping since he had CQ last night. I am hoping that maybe we can do something fun this weekend. I am going to try to talk Branden into taking Kinsy to this indoor kids playland in Idar Oberstein. His back is really been hurting, but I am hoping I can still convince him to take her. We did get 5 possible dates for him to leave. I am hoping the last one is the one we get, but knowing our luck… it is not going to be much longer 😦  (for anyone not in the military that may be reading this, I can not post dates, it is against OPSEC. My post is not set to private and I do not want to be the on that puts troops on the move in harm because I posted a date!)

There has just been so much going on this week. It is making the time go by so quick. I wish I had a pause button or maybe even a rewind! Trying to think of a year apart… I have been trying to wrap my brain around that. It isn’t as easy as you think. One year, twelve months, 52 weeks, 365 days. During that time – we may miss Valentine’s Day and we may miss our anniversary, depends on when he goes. He will miss Easter, his birthday, Memorial Day, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, Fourth of July, Jack’s first birthday, my birthday, Labor Day, Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Kinsy’s fourth birthday, New Year’s Eve and again possibly Valentine’s Day and our Anniversary. Out of all of the above holidays, in 2010 we were together for – Memorial weekend, Mother’s Day, Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Kinsy’s birthday and New Year’s Eve. It is possible that we could miss spending our fourth, fifth and sixth wedding anniversaries together. Oh Army, how cruel you can be. You notice I did not mark Jack’s birthday for 2010? That is correct, he was not there when Jack was born. He made it the next day and he will miss his first birthday. I am already trying to figure out how to include Branden in that also.  I am also already trying to plan out all the goody boxes I will be sending. I have some good ideas, but will always hear more if anyone has one!

The other hard thing about this getting so much closer…. McKinsy. What is hard about her you ask? Well I have started trying to talk to her about Daddy going to work for a really long time. I have tried to tell her that it is just going to be me, her and Jack for a while. That we will be able to talk to Daddy on the computer when he has a chance and on the phone when he has the chance. I have tried to talk to her about coloring pictures to send to daddy and what she may talk to him about on the phone. I have tried to tell her in terms she can understand how long daddy may be gone. Sometimes she is receptive, other times, she just starts to cry and says Daddy no leave for work. She is used to him going for a night for duty now, he has had a  lot of duty lately. He had duty last night though and even though she never asked for him yesterday, she did check the bed for him first thing this morning. So I think that once he leaves… it will take a couple of days of him being gone before she realizes that he is gone for a long time.  I think that Jack will just be too little to notice. But I want him to know who his Daddy is, so I am trying to think of age appropriate ways to remind him of his dad. There is just so much to think about!

Well Kinsy is wanting some time with mommy….. so until next time!

Published in: on January 13, 2011 at 2:44 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://payneonthemove.wordpress.com/2011/01/13/long-weekend-off/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. i think you have great ideas on how to prepare and things you can do while he’s gone. All you can do is take it one day at a time! You’re a great mama – it will be hard on the kids, but they will make it. And so will you 🙂 Hugs!!!


Leave a Reply

