battle of wills……

I have decided that the war between mother and daughter, adult and child, the rule maker and the rule breaker has officially started. I have also decided that I HATE the age of 3! Maybe hate is a pretty strong word, some days she is cute and she is very funny. Those are the days that make me forget that under that sweet little voice and cute smile lies a 3 year old. If you have had a 3 year old you know what I mean. The following is what I am quickly learning that being 3 means:

It means occasionally they will dress themselves, until you are in a hurry and then they will lay there like a limp rag and suddenly they don’t remember how to do it or they can put their shoes on when they are throwing a fit to go out, but if mommy wants to get out the door quick they: A. they don’t know where they took the damn shoes off and B. the suddenly forgot how shoes work!

It also means they will tell you how starved they are, make them a healthy meal and they sit and stare at it, then when they finally convince you that they are full and you throw it away, it never fails that 15 minutes later they will ask for some kind of crap!!!!

A 3 year old has no problem demanding for stuff to be done for her, but let me ask her how to do something to help me out and suddenly she is a deaf-mute!!!!!!

 A 3 year old has the attention span of a gnat… they may start off cleaning up the toys, until one catches their eye, then they forget all about cleaning, bed time or anything else that happened before they saw that toy. They will also look at you like a deer caught in the headlights when you ask them what they are doing and why they are not cleaning!
 
And I do not know who tells them on their 3rd birthday that they have a say in what rules are being made! But if I find that person I will put them over my knee and send them to bed with no dinner! 
 
I know that those of you with older children are going to tell me that this is just the beginning, that she will continue to test me for the rest of her years. This is only the beginning of her talking back and thinking that she knows everything. So I am officially putting my game face on and saying BRING IT! This momma is prepared for battle! 
 
Published in: on May 2, 2011 at 5:56 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://payneonthemove.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/battle-of-wills/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE it!! Bring it on!!

  2. I got all fired up just reading that, and I’m still a couple years away from that battle!


Leave a Reply

